Stepping Back a Bit

The holidays are approaching and I have not begun preparations. I have planned no menus or bought no presents. This is not good!

I know I have left the story with Dad safely out of the Soviet Union but suddenly drafted into the Army. His parents and three sisters had just arrived in Kuibyshev- the temporary capital of the Soviet Union. His younger brother, Pete, Pete’s wife Nona, and his sister Nancy’s husband and sister-in-law were still missing.

I began writing this blog as a means of sharing my father’s story with some of my friends and relatives.  It was part of a book which I have been researching and writing for years- believing it would be of little interest outside that small sphere. I have been surprised at the number of strangers who have read and returned to reading this blog. Although I have only 36 official followers, I have been able to see that many more people are reading this story, which would have thrilled my father.

I have been given some suggestions on how to improve my book, which I like, so I would like to take the time during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays to decide where I am going with it and make some revisions.  The only decision is that I am going to self-publish it because I have decided that, while any writer would like to have a best-seller, my original purpose was to learn and write about my father for myself and my family. I would like to finish and publish it soon so my mother can read it, which I can’t do if I attempt to find a traditional publisher. I hear that can take years. I may only print or E-publish enough for my family. I am not sure.

I had been posting Monday -Friday, but in order to get organized for my holidays, I am going to cut back to two days per week: Monday and Wednesday or Thursday. I will let you know.

Thanks.

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in Author Comments. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stepping Back a Bit

  1. Ellen says:

    Take all the time you need, Karen….we’ll be waiting! I know this will mean so much to your mom. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. NikiMarie says:

    A break is well deserved! We’ll be here 🙂 Enjoy your time with family and friends! It’s what holidays are best for 🙂

  3. Bumblebee says:

    Hi Karen, I think it is amazing that you have been able to post so regularly. Have a lovely break over Christmas. I am sure whatever you decide the resulting book will be a fascinating read!

Leave a Reply

