New Route Home

My grandparents and three aunts were finally in Kuibyshev.  It was time to to plan for their return to New Jersey. They all knew that they needed to concentrate on the girls, since my grandarents had never completed the naturalization process while they were living in the United States. The Soviets would not be likely to allow any of their citizens to leave.

I had mentioned in my previous post, Looking to the Embassy for Help, that the American Embassy had written to the Soviets informing them of the citizenship status of my aunts and requesting help in finding temporary shelter.

A letter was written to the Secretary of State from Ambassador Walter Thurston on behalf of my aunts.  My three aunts requested that Dad send money to Kuibyshev to cover the cost of their passports “and other expenses” along with one hundred dollars to embassy officials in Tehran.  The letter also instructed Dad to arrange travel through Tehran.

So that was the new route- south, rather than the eastern path through Japan, Honolulu, and San Francisco that my father had taken the previous year. I guess I needed to do some research regarding the safety of that route during World War II.

Unfortunately, it was obvious that no one knew Dad had been drafted, since the letter was sent to him at the Rockaway home he had been staying in since his return. How long before they learned that Dad was no longer there?

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in World War II and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Route Home

  1. Bumblebee says:

    Hi Karen, it looks like your tale and my travels may meet up again – in Tehran! I should be there (all going to plan) in two weeks! I will look forward to your next instalments on this exciting journey (not to drag you away from enjoying a break at Christmas though!). Again, I am sure these will add another layer of fascination and enjoyment to my trip. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

