Genealogy Search Brings About a Surprise Trip

Back in November, I wrote a blog entry that was off-topic to this Do Svidanya Dad blog. It was intended as a genealogy tip relating to my experience  using a local guide/historian to aid in genealogy research: Using Local Tour Guides in Our Search.

I have an exciting update which resulted from reaching out to the local Irish historian from Castlebar in County Mayo, Ireland–Brian Hoban.  The branch of my mother’s family I was researching was the Brennan family, which has a very famous relative on one of its leaves—Louis Brennan.  Louis earned a lot of money for his inventions, in particular, the dirigible torpedo used by the British military for many years. After his government funding was stopped, he used his own money to invest in future projects.

Louis died in 1932 as a result of an accident in Switzerland and was buried in an unmarked grave in London.  As a result of years of painstaking work by a committee of locals from Castlebar, a new grave and monument marking Louis’ final resting place is set to be unveiled in London in March. The ceremony will be presided over by Ireland’s Taioseach (Prime Minister), Edna Kenny.

When I learned that Louis died virtually penniless and did not have a proper burial, I was saddened and am now happy that he will be having a proper burial. Additionally, I have been invited to attend the ceremony. I do not know what to expect, but I do believe it will be quite the adventure.  Now, the big question is- what do I wear?

Here is the press release from the Castlebar News:  http://www.castlebar.ie/Nostalgia_and_History/FINAL-TRIBUTE-TO-CASTLEBAR-INVENTOR.shtml

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in Genealogy Research Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Genealogy Search Brings About a Surprise Trip

  1. JUDY CARMICK says:

    I know! You can wear a Windermere T shirt!

  2. NikiMarie says:

    That’s incredibly exciting! Who knew this is where some of your research would take you? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mystery in a Bible | Do Svidanya Dad

Leave a Reply

