Words of Wisdom- TBT

As part of a TBT, I thought I would share some words of wisdom that I found among my father’s newspapers—the first would be considered household hints, while the second is timely marital advice from a flash from the past/present.

I checked out the book mentioned in the article—Never Throw Out a Banana Again. I learned, in the brief description, that a banana’s nutrition increases as it ripens, so they can be frozen and then used in smoothies or banana ice cream. I never recall having either of these, so I guess neither of my parents read this handy-dandy helpful hint. Somehow, the second hint about throwing in a sponge to “absorb spoilage-promoting moisture” has a bit of familiarity to it, so I will have to ask my mother about that hint.

Penny-pinching Advice

The second little article was written by none-other than Ivana Trump and includes a piece of advice from her 1995 book The Best is Yet to Come: Coping with Divorce and Enjoying Life Again.

Ivana Trump Advice

According to the first former Mrs. Trump, “The only time you don’t need a prenuptial is if he’s got a bad cough and a walker.”

Hmm! Very interesting.

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in Newspapers-1963-2008 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

