Trump and Russians a Long Time Ago- TBT

I never realized just how long Donald Trump has been part of the news cycle with prominent Russians until I began reading my father’s old newspapers. Because of Dad’s Russian connections, I was not at all surprised to discover that he had included the visit of Mikhail Gorbachev to New York City in 1988 among his collection. After all, my father had lived in the Soviet Union for ten years.

Since my posts are not concentrated on major news reports such as the assassination of the Kennedy brothers, the first moon landing, the Oklahoma City bombing, the resignation of Nixon, or the tragedy of September 11, I have chosen today a minor news article about the Gorbachev visit from the gossip column of the New York Daily News.

During the visit of the Soviet leader, Donald Trump had extended an invitation to Trump Tower, but unfortunately for Mr. Trump, that never happened. The consolation prize for the 2016 Republican nominee was dinner at the Soviet Mission, which was attended by other dignitaries such as members of the Kennedy family.

I wonder what my Russian grandmother thought of the event. Was she aware that Mrs. Trump was outfitted in a red chiffon dress with a sequined top, designed by Cher’s favorite designer? Baba, I recently learned, despised Cher because she did not approve of her belly-button revealing apparel. By the transitive property, my grandmother would not approve of Mrs. Trump’s gown.

After the dinner, the article reported that Mrs. Trump and her three children—Donald Jr., Ivanka, and Eric—were heading off to Nassau, then returning to New York for Christmas before jetting off to Aspen. Ah, the life of the “capitalists extraordinaire!”

If you are bored with the life of the Trump family, then continue reading. Apparently, there was a little difference of opinion between the princesses Carolina and Stephanie of Monaco regarding where their mother’s memorabilia from To Catch a Thief should be stored. I, on the other hand, am thinking about what I am having for dinner.

Next week, back to the real world of Do Svidanya Dad.

Trump and Gorbachev

 

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in Newspapers-1963-2008 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

