Liebster Award

Liebster Award-2

I was flattered when a fellow blogger nominated my blog for a Liebster Award, although I was not aware that awards were bestowed upon blogs. I learned that the Liebster Award was created to recognize and hopefully promote blogs with less than 200 followers. “Liebster” is a German word meaning beloved or dearest. I accepted the award, but I admit I am uncomfortable about publishing this post (although it was fun), particularly coming up with random facts about me because this is not why I am writing this blog.

Thank you Ellie Holmes of And Then What for believing in my blog enough to nominate me. Ellie is a “Writer, expert juggler and occasional lion tamer because that To Do List never gets any shorter, does it?” She just published her debut novel, “The Flower Seller.” I have read her book and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great job, Ellie!

Her blog describes the bumps along the way of writing and publishing her book and acts as a cheerleader for other writers maneuvering this challenging journey. She blogs twice a week, once “about a broad range of subjects and once on Thursdays on a writing related topic.”

My Answers:

  1. Why did you decide to start your blog? I always knew that my father had a very different childhood than the dads of my friends, so when I decided to research and write about it, I wanted to see if anyone other than my family agreed.
  2. What is the hardest thing about maintaining a blog? It is difficult for me to find a balance between writing and living my life. I know I spend too much time at my computer.
  3. What’s the best thing about blogging? Blogging has been a surprise. I never expected that so many strangers would continue to return to my site and want to learn more.
  4. What are your top tips for someone just starting a blog? I would definitely advise to set up a schedule. In the beginning, I blogged every day, which was too much for me and probably my readers—particularly my children!
  5. What’s the best piece of advice you have ever been given and did you follow it? The best advice was given to me recently by Ellie Holmes, the woman who nominated me for this award. Basically, she suggested I stop going in too many directions. I think, for my sanity, I need to listen to her.
  6. What are you passionate about? I am passionate about trying to convince people to sit down and talk to their older relatives before it’s too late.
  7. How would you spend a ‘perfect’ day? A perfect day would be spent with my daughters and two sisters —just talking and catching up with each other at my house.
  8. Do you ever suffer with writer’s block and if you do, how do you get over it? Since both my blogs revolve around my family, I find that taking out some old pictures helps to spark a few new ideas.
  9. Who is/are your favorite author(s)? I always enjoyed John Grisham’s legal thrillers, and for great summer fun reads, I love reading Janet Evanovich, perhaps because she writes about a Jersey girl named Stephanie Plum. My most recent favorite book was “The Nightingale” by Kristin Hannah. I never realized how much history could be learned outside the classroom.
  10.  Where do you hope to be in five years’ time? I would love it if my book became a mini success, and I am considering writing another book.
  11. What’s your favorite waste of time? My favorite waste of time is sitting on the sofa in my screened porch, having a cup of tea or a glass of wine, and reading a good book while soft music plays in the background.

11 Random Facts about Me

  1. I never ate Chinese food until I was twenty-one.
  2. I used to drink only White Zinfandel wine until I was shamed into expanding my wine horizons and now I have lost my taste for it.
  3. I was given a gift by the Prime Minister of Ireland.
  4. I have a distant cousin who is a cosmonaut.
  5. I overcame my fear of bridges after someone tried to unsuccessfully to drive off of one.
  6. I hate wearing nail polish on my fingers and toes.
  7. I am always playing the alphabetical license plate game, and am currently looking for Idaho.
  8. I don’t understand why everyone doesn’t like the music of Barry Manilow.
  9. I once fixed a vacuum cleaner by taking it apart—completely apart—and putting it back together correctly.
  10. My favorite candy is plain M&M’s.
  11. My maiden name will die out in the U.S. once my brothers are gone.

My List of Nominees

This was my problem in accepting this award because I discovered that my potential nominees:

  • Had too many followers
  • Were not interested in the award
  • Stopped blogging
  • Got nominated by someone else before I published this post, so I have only one nominee:

****Kattywampusbooks***

 My Questions

  1. What was your motivation to start a blog?
  2. What tips would you give to a new blogger?
  3. If you could go back in time who would you like to visit for one day?
  4. What moment in history, during your lifetime, is the most memorable?
  5. Who is the most influential person in your life?
  6. What is your favorite book(s)?
  7. Where in the world would you like to go if money was no object?
  8. Name three things that make you happy.
  9. What did you do for fun as a child?
  10. Do you, or did you, have a job where writing was part of your job description?
  11. What is your biggest fear?

2016 Liebster Award Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you.
  • Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.  Images you can use for your 2016 Liebster Award can be found at http://theglobalaussie.com/the-official-rules-of-the-liebster-award-2016/ .
  • List these rules in your post.
  • Answer your nominator’s questions.
  • Give 10 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 200 followers.
  • Create 11 questions for your own nominees to answer.
  • Once you have written and published it, you then have to: Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it.

 

 

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Liebster Award

  1. Lovely post – thank you for your kind words about me. I’m glad the advice helped 🙂 Ellie x

  2. Pingback: Just a Pat on the Back | Do Svidanya Dad

  3. Congratulations. I have gone through so many posts and I must say I love your blog 🙂

    Stay connected 🙂

Leave a Reply

