More Than Just a Liner for Your Birdcage

I am testing the waters of a Goodreads Giveaway as a means of increasing exposure to my book. Goodreads, for those not familiar with this website, is a place where one can explore the world of books. It is similar to Facebook in that you can find friends and have discussions, but all the talk is book-related. There is no politicking, no comments on who is playing the newest game or cooking the latest recipes. Instead, there are virtual book clubs and contests to win books.

Would someone want to enter a contest to win my book? Why not try? So after careful research, I decided against Goodreads’ suggestion to have a month-long giveaway of “as many as I can afford.” I chose to have my contest for just fifteen days rather than a month, beginning on Christmas Eve, and I am giving away only two books.  The reasoning is that there are categories for “Ending Soon” and “Recently Listed,” so an author may get the most entries at the beginning and end of a giveaway, and some studies have shown that the number of books given away does not encourage more contest entries.

Being the insecure writer that I am, my initial target was “5,” so when I had around 60 on the first day, I was shocked and thrilled. I have noticed more activity on the first day than on subsequent days. Now, on day #13, there are 400 people who are interested in getting a free copy of my book! Will they read it, or perhaps line their bird cages with it? Who knows, but in any case, I am hoping that a few of those that entered will one day read my book. We shall see. and I must say, the interest was more than I ever expected. Very cool!

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Than Just a Liner for Your Birdcage

  1. Diane Taylor says:

    Very glad to hear about your experience with Goodreads Giveaway. It has given me inspiration to try it myself with my own book (on memoir writing) published two years ago. I’m excited for you.

  2. kjw616 says:

    Thanks. Now I will see if it generates any sales. I will keep you posted. Sorry I didn’t do the giveaway in Canada this time. Originally I was going to do it just in the US, and then I decided to add the UK because I have had several sales there, which is interesting, and Ireland, because I know a few people there. If this turns out to be a success, I will do it again and expand it to a few more countries.

  3. Pingback: Goodreads Giveaway- Will it Work? | Do Svidanya Dad

Leave a Reply

