Goodreads Giveaway- Will it Work?

As I write this, it is 3:30 Sunday afternoon, the last day of my experiment with a Goodreads Giveaway. With just 11 ½ hours remaining, there are 785 people who have entered to win one of two copies of my book, “Do Svidanya Dad.” This has far exceeded my target of “5,” or the 400 people who had already entered on Friday morning when I posted “More Than Just a Liner for Your Birdcage.”

I think I will learn the names of the two winners this week, and then I will wait and see if this contest begins to generate any sales. Goodreads provides stats, which shows that 363 people have added my book to their shelves, so my hope is that someone will decide to purchase it one day. The thing is, I have been able to look at the shelves of the people who have placed it on theirs, and I have noticed that some readers have huge virtual bookcases, with as many as 72000 on their shelf! (Do they have a life besides reading?)  Somehow, I doubt they will make it to mine.

baby-crying

But I am encouraged, because at least 785+ people have heard of my story. With Russia being a particularly hot item in the news these days, I am hoping that readers will be interested in learning the story of an American family who willingly moved to the Soviet Union during the Great Depression Era, believing it would be the answer to their poverty. I know that it was a huge mistake, and you will too if you read it.

I will report back with the effect of this experiment on my sales.

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodreads Giveaway- Will it Work?

  1. 5experts says:

    hi there blog owner!
    Superb suggestions. Thank you for sharing.
    I see intriguing short articles right here.
    I’m surprised, I have to state. Hardly ever do I come across a blog that’s similarly informative
    thanks

Leave a Reply

