His Namesake on the Cover

There is a lot occurring in the nation and the world that is disconcerting to me, so I was happy when something happened during a recent play date with my young grandson. We were getting ready to enjoy a rigorous round of Candy Land, and while he was on his way to get it, he suddenly screamed with excited delight. When I asked what was going on, he said, “Your book Grandma, your book!” He had noticed my book sitting on the end table.

This made me particularly happy, because I wrote this book with the hopes that my children and grandchildren will all eventually read it during my lifetime. With that as one goal, I intentionally wrote it as a story with short chapters, so it would be easy reading for my grandchildren—both the two already here and for any future ones. I want themto know about their great grandfather, and I would like to sit down with them someday and tell them about my dad.

For my little grandson, knowing that he will someday read about the man who he was named after is particularly special to me. So when he goes down my hallway, which is filled with family photos hanging on the wall, I continuously point out the pictures of my father—the boy wearing the life preserver on the cover of “Do Svidanya Dad.” It means “until we meet again.”

front-cover-may-2

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

