I’m All Set

It is now less than one week until I make my big public debut at the local literary festival in the southern city of Columbia, South Carolina, which has been my home for the past 8 ½ years. I have ordered thirty copies of my book to sell, and now I wonder if I am kidding myself in thinking there will be that many people interested in purchasing my book. Is there any chance that I did not order enough?

I have the business cards which I already mentioned, (Will Anyone Come) along with the Russian candy and some bookmarks. I learned a lesson from the bookmarks, which is to always order a proof copy. It turns out that the font size would likely be the last line on the chart you read at your local eye doctor, but I waited too long to order that proof. Perhaps I should give out magnifying glasses!

bookmark

The design consists of the book cover and my website along with two reviews of the book, which include few nice buzzwords and phrases not written on the back-cover blurb: genealogy, family survival, and mid-twentieth century American and Russian history.

So next Sunday, I will arrive with my paraphernalia and high hopes that someone will come chat with me. I hope that the fact that Russia is now a hot topic in the news will help to attract some visitors to my table. If not, at least I will meet some other local authors and learn what to do next time.

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m All Set

  1. Diane Taylor says:

    A fellow writer here queried the local paper and they sent out a journalist to do a story on her book … and at the same time announce the book signing. A lot of people showed up and she sold 70 copies. It was about her parents love story during WWll. Based on 600 letters her newly engaged parents wrote to each other when he was sent overseas. Called Love in the Air, by Joanne Culley.. .
    Best of luck. I look forward to hearing how things went.

  2. kjw616 says:

    I am glad you wrote this, because I am not bringing as many books as Joanne Cullley did, so it made me think of what to do in case I am fortunate enough to run out of books. I am thinking of providing an order form so I can send books directly to anyone who wanted to buy it but can’t– of course at the same price I will sell it at the fair (lower than they can buy it online).

    Also, I orderered that book you just mentioned. It sounds right up my alley. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

