Family History- It Starts with the Wee Ones

Anyone who has read my book or enough of my blog know that my biggest regret is not sitting down with my father and my maternal grandmother to listen to the stories of their childhood memories. If I had spoken to my grandmother, I probably would have known where in Ireland all her relatives originated. My father would have happily answered all my questions about what it was like to grow up in the USSR and hear about his journey home alone at a time when much of the world was already at war.

Today I read a blog about an eighth-grade history teacher in Utah who does a project with his students each year called “My Story in American History.” If only I had had a teacher like him at that age. I am hoping to inspire an interest in family history in my grandchildren by hook or by crook!

Check out what this teacher has been doing:

8th Grade Family History Project: My Story in American History

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in Genealogy Research Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

