International Giveaway Mailing Shocker

I have never mailed any international packages, so today’s trip to the UPS store was a real eye-opener. This mailing was related to my recent Goodreads Giveaway.

The winners of my first Giveaway were both U.S. citizens. This time, I learned that one book would be off to neighboring Georgia, while the second was going to Canada. I liked both locales, since my father had spent time in Georgia during the war, and Canada was a country he had never visited. So symbolically, Dad was off to our Northern neighbor.

I carefully composed a short message to each winner, and wrapped and addressed the two packages. Having mailed my book before, I knew the cost to mail within the states was minimal, but I had no idea what the cost to Canada would be.

The first surprise was that for International mailings, UPS required the recipient’s telephone number. “Okay,” I told my friendly store manager. “I’ll be back.”

Before leaving the store, I asked him to find out the price to mail my book to Canada. We were both shocked to learn that it would be over twenty dollars! Wow! “Perhaps you should research the cost to mail it direct from the publisher,” he advised.

The difference was huge: $6.99 direct from Amazon versus $20 if shipped by me. Lesson learned. (The price via US Mail was still pricey, albeit cheaper than UPS.)

So now I have a book with a message to a person in Canada which will stay in my house here, while that Canadian reader will receive the book without my little words of wisdom to her.

Oh well. I tried, but I had to be practical, and I never promised an autographed copy. It’s a good thing nobody in Australia won!

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

