Timeout/Scale Back

I need to slow down and stop trying to continue down so many different paths before I crash and burn. Although it is technically springtime in the Northern Hemisphere, here in the Southeastern United States, it is definitely summertime. The kids are out of school, the temperatures are in the nineties, the days are long, and the grass and plants are begging for more water as they all wilt in the afternoon sun.

Since I was a kid, this has always been the time of year to relax and smell the roses. That is not what I have been doing, and I don’t like it. I have been trying to keep up with my two blogs, plan my summer vacation, play with the grandkids, finish redoing my mother’s photo albums, assemble a family cookbook, and write another book. Oh yes, then there is my book club. I am behind on that. (And there is always the laundry to do and toilets to clean.)

So I am cutting back on my blogs, particularly Do Svidanya Dad, since I have been tossing around the idea of turning Mommymeanderings into a book—something along the lines of Mommymeanderings: Where the Hell Did the Years Go? For anyone not familiar with my second blog, it the rambling memories and observations of a Baby boomer—me—as told to my three grown children.

After struggling to write my father’s story, I decided that perhaps my own children and grandchildren would someday be interested in learning what it was like growing up in a smalltown in the fifties, sixties, and seventies. I wrote the kind of stories I wish my own parents and grandparents had written about or told to me.

I began the blog shortly after hitting a very difficult-to-accept milestone birthday: #60!   I sprinkled in stories of my own parents and grandparents, and I am hoping that these tales will give my daughters and their children a personal history of how much the world has changed, as well as how much it is still the same.

Enough stories are written for a book, but I am still continuing that blog. It is now a matter of choosing which ones to include and how to organize it in a cohesive format. Then I will decide whether to publish it just for them or to allow for the possibility that others outside my family may be interested. I am uncertain at this time.

Do Svidanya Dad will still drop by on occasion, but for now, I need to work on these other projects and also have a little summer fun.

About kjw616

I am a genealogy detective. I have already written one book about my Irish family's journey from 19th century Ireland to the United States- a family history sprinkled with personal anecdotes. My second book was intended to be a similar story about my Russian ancestors. Instead, it turned into a tale of just my father's immediate family. It is the tale of what happens when 6 children from New Jersey are moved to the Soviet Union by their Russian-born parents during the Great Depression. It details who lives, who dies, and who is able to return to NJ during a time when leaving the USSR was not an easy endeavor, particularly during World War II and the Cold War. It is my hope that those interested in history during this time period will find this story fascinating as well as those fellow amateur family historians who will learn some of the tools such as ancestry.com, visits to the National Archives, and local libraries I used to uncover this story.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

